Transforming Care Conference on LGBTQ+ & HIV Health Equity is hosted by the Equitas Health Institute and Equitas Health. The conference brings together over 500 activists, academics, community members, health and social service professionals, and others interested in reducing health disparities in the LGBTQ+ and HIV communites.

We’re excited to offer an opportunity to recognize people who have made significant contributions to the health and wellness of the LGBTQ+ or HIV communities in the Midwest, including Ohio. With 6 different categories, we will recognize individuals across the spectrum of care from providers to advocates. Winners of the awards will be announced at the Transforming Care Awards Ceremony.

Nominations are due by September 9, 2019. Submit a nomination here.

FRIDAY, OCTOBER 18, 2019 | 12-1:15PM


The categories for the awards are:

Medical Provider

This award will recognize a medical provider – nurse, physician, pharmacist, etc. – who overcomes racial, economic, ability, and language barriers to provide radically inclusive LGBTQ+ or HIV/AIDS healthcare.

Social Service Provider

This award will recognize a social service provider – social worker, counselor, etc.- who overcomes racial, economic, ability, and language barriers to provide radically inclusive LGBTQ+ or HIV/AIDS healthcare.

Community Advocate

This award will recognize a community advocate – activist, community organizer, volunteer, etc. – who passionately advocates for the LGBTQ+ or HIV/AIDS community and practices inclusivity across racial, economic, ability, and language barriers.


This award will recognize an individual who has shown life-long dedication to the health and wellness of the LGBTQ+ and/or HIV/AIDS communities.

Emerging Leader

This award will recognize a young professional, student, activist, or individual new to the field who has made a significant contribution to LGBTQ+ and/or HIV/AIDS health and wellness.

Organization Champion

This award will recognize a business, non-profit, or other organization that has created significant and impactful improvement(s) in the field of LGBTQ+ health and wellness. This award will go to an organization rather than an individual.